Review: Spider-Man: Far From Home

Part 1: Taken from my Letterboxd and spoiler free.

I feel like I have pretty low standards for MCU movies, because I love them all, so I liked this one. It was funny and sweet, a little messy, but with great action scenes.

Jake Gyllenhaal’s Mysterio was a great villain (as well as being hot) and he was one of my favourite parts of the movie. It suffered a little from being the second movie in a trilogy, which is pretty hard to get around unless the movie is very good (like The Winter Soldier) but Far From Home was trying it’s best and it did pay off. The mid credits scene was a plot twist (and cemented Mysterio as one of the better MCU villains – his impact is not going to last just one movie) and sets up the third movie in Spider-Man’s trilogy well, while featuring a great cameo – go watch it and trust me on that. I just can’t believe Marvel are gonna make me wait two more years to find out how Peter’s going to deal with the fallout.

Peter & MJ’s budding romance was also pretty adorable, and I can’t say I didn’t ship them at least a little bit during Homecoming. Overall, although the negative reviews of this movie have a point, I would definitely give it a chance.

Part 2 – contains major spoilers.

Here are my reactions & thoughts in a list

  • The Tony Stark references, even the video at the beginning, made me so sad because he’s gone 😦
  • Although him calling his AI EDITH which stands for Even Dead I’m The Hero made me laugh because, classic Tony
  • Then I went back to crying
  • I really deluded myself for a moment thinking Mysterio would be a mentor/father figure for Peter because their dynamic was so cute for all of five minutes
  • Although I think Happy might become a sort of mentor to Peter instead (I’m not going to say the f words because then Marvel will kill him off & I do NOT want that)
  • Mysterio’s origin exposition dump nearly made me laugh because he’s literally a Tony anti in human form
  • He then got beaten & killed by Peter, a Tony stan in human form, so… that’s pretty telling
  • MJ & Peter were so cute and awkward and I love them so much
  • Her favourite flower being the black dahlia because of the murder is iconic, and MJ definitely watches BuzzFeed Unsolved
  • Now let’s talk about the mid credit scene because, in Peter’s words, WHAT THE FU-
  • Mysterio may have been dead but I would bring him back to life just to kill him again because no one fucks with Peter Parker on my watch
  • Yes, I would even punch Jake Gyllenhaal’s perfect face
  • Peter’s gonna have a hell of a time dealing with that in the next movie (Spider-Man: Homeless)
  • IF MJ BREAKS UP WITH PETER BECAUSE OF IT-
  • The Daily Bugle being Info Wars & J. Jonah Jameson being Alex Jones isn’t what I expected but I’m on board

That’s all, I think, but overall I did enjoy it.

Leave a comment